To join our mailing list, please complete the information below and click 'Join Our Mailing List'.

Your Interests

Please select the areas of interest for which you would like to receive an occasional email from us.


Synod Assembly

The Saint Paul Synod Assembly gathers annually at Prince of Peace Lutheran Church in Burnsville, Minn. As the highest legislative authority of the synod, delegates from congregations engage in conversation and vote on resolutions, synod council and committee nominations, in addition to other synod business.

2016 Synod Assembly

The 2016 Synod Assembly was held Friday, May 20 and Saturday, May 21 at Prince of Peace Lutheran, Burnsville.

We are on the cusp of commemorating the 500th Anniversary of the Reformation. As we prepare to observe this ecumenical milestone with Roman Catholic and other Christian brothers and sisters, the 2016 Synod Assembly will reflect on both our identity and our unique vocation as Lutherans. Half a millennium after our reformation beginnings, where is God calling us today?

"Bold & Hopeful" is about claiming our past, but more importantly, our future, as people shaped by God's grace. The theme reminds us that we have come this far by openness to God's reforming Spirit at work in us and we will go forward inspired by the same Spirit.

Each congregation is allowed a certain number of voting members. Please reference the voting allocation chart (PDF) for this number!

Pre-Assembly Report
The Pre-Assembly Report details all of the information that you need to know before going to Synod Assembly. You do not need to print out the report, as you will recieve an updated & printed copy on site. Download the Pre-Assembly Report here (PDF)!

Bulletin of Reports
Reports from task force groups and synodical committees, ministry partners, and agencies and institutions affiliated with Saint Paul Area Synod and the Evangelical Lutheran Church in America are contained in this document. Download the Bulletin of Reports here (PDF)!


The Rev. Anthony Bateza
The Rev. Anthony Bateza, originally from Des Moines, Iowa, studied at Iowa State University and the Lutheran School of Theology at Chicago. A Ph.D. Candidate at Princeton Theological Seminary, he joined the faculty at St. Olaf in the fall of 2015. Before returning to graduate studies and higher education, he served as pastor of Grace Lutheran Church in Uniondale, New York, for four years.

A specialist in Martin Luther and Christian ethics, Rev. Bateza’s research examines Luther’s understanding of human agency and his relationship with the virtue tradition. His other scholarly interests include the broader Augustinian tradition, the impact of Luther’s thought on 19th century philosophy, and questions of race, identity, and social justice.

Anthony lives in Northfield with his wife, Cynthia, and their two young children, Austen and Magdalene.

The Rev. Wyvetta Bullock
Wyvetta has served as Assistant to the Presiding Bishop/Executive for Administration, in the Office of the Presiding Bishop since 2007. Prior to serving in this position she served as Executive for Leadership Development and Executive Director for the Division for Congregational Ministries.

Wyvetta is an ELCA pastor. She received her Master of Divinity and Doctor of Ministry in Preaching from Lutheran School of Theology at Chicago (LSTC). Wyvetta received the Distinguished Alumni Award from LSTC in 2003. In 2004 she was conferred with the Honorary Doctor of Humane Letters from Grand View College, Des Moines, Iowa.

Wyvetta serves as a pastoral associate at Bethel Lutheran Church, Chicago, Illinois. Wyvetta serves on the Board of Directors of Augusta Victoria Hospital, Jerusalem.

Wyvetta is a contributing author to two books: The Evangelizing Church: A Lutheran Contribution, Called Out of Our Comfort Zones, Augsburg Fortress Publishers, Minneapolis, Minnesota, Spring 2005; and The Missional Church & Denominations: Helping Congregations Develop a Missional Identity, The Challenge of Developing Missional Denominational Agencies and the Implications for Leadership, William B. Eerdmans Publishing Company, Grand Rapids, Michigan, 2008.

Wyvetta and her husband, Neil, have two children: David and Karen Ann.