Our Synod

The Saint Paul Area Synod is one of 65 synods in the Evangelical Lutheran Church in America (ELCA). Led by Bishop Patricia Lull and made up of 112 congregations and new mission starts, the Saint Paul Area Synod works to build mutually transformative partnerships, embolden public witness for justice, and renew ourselves in the possibilities of being church in a new day.

Statement of Purpose

The Saint Paul Area Synod is made up of congregations, mission starts and institutions committed to growing in faith and trust in Jesus Christ. Living out of our identity as Lutherans, we recognize we are grasped by grace and are free to devote our energy to being church in a way that is rooted in tradition and open to experimentation.



The Saint Paul Area Synod Assembly is the highest legislative authority in the Saint Paul Area Synod and meets annually to conduct business. Between meetings of the synod assembly, the synod council serves as the board of directors of the synod and the interim legislative authority.


Synod Office Staff

Wondering who to contact for help with a sabbatical, for an interim, or promotion for an upcoming event?

Find a Congregation

Looking for a Saint Paul Area Synod, ELCA congregation near you?

Wondering which conference you church is in?